Wednesday 1 August - Peddar's Way Day 3

Published on by robhenderson

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7253/7724979346_7ee058c654.jpgI wrote up my notes sitting in Rasputin's, the Russian restaurant in Swaffham. I did the 13 mile walk – the last 3 miles were very difficult indeed. At this time, it seemed very unlikely that I would be walking anywhere on the next day. I was also listening to some interesting Russian music in the restaurant.


Anyway, back to the start of the day. I did the normal thing and checked the forecast before deciding to set off. It was for heavy rain in the afternoon – not good. And my walk would take me a long way from Swaffham – to Fring. I reckoned that it would take about 45 minutes to get to Fring, and if it was going to get wet, I didn't want to sit around for 90 minutes. So, I decided to do the walk the other way around. I got the taxi to pick me up at the bungalow and take me to Fring. I was wrong – it took an hour. At about 8am, we were travelling through lovely villages with pretty ponds, quaint cottages, churches and the occasional windmill. Great Massingham looked particularly delightful.


I mention these villages as the path went arrow straight and avoided anything of any interest.


After getting out at Fring and walked along a country lane (along which some vehicles were travelling way too fast) until I came to an unmarked cross path. It could not have been anything other that the Peddar's Way. So, I started walking along this path, now southwards. There was a strongish breeze in my face and the grassy track went on and on up and down little hill-ettes for mile upon relentless mile. It was unimaginably uninspiring. I saw a deer, some pheasants, a hare. On the horizon, a windmill.

 

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7106/7725005584_d0eb13d3df.jpghttp://farm9.staticflickr.com/8422/7724997038_3a5daf1ddc.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sometimes an RAF jet would zoom overhead.  http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7249/7724961440_3476b4832f.jpg


I met some walkers coming in the other direction, and we compared notes. They had been walking the trail carrying everything and camping overnight. We agreed that the path was boring.


After about 4 hours I got back to Castle Acre and called the taxi. The rain had held off. I checked on my feet – really very blistered – and the weather – good forecast for the next day. I settled down to watch the olympics on the television.


In the early evening I hobbled into town and had a great meal. I think that I have been persuaded to go to Saint Petersburg next year!

 

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post