Cambridge Rock Festival - Sunday 7 August 2011

Published on by robhenderson

Sunday looked like the proggiest of the days, even if I liked the Saturday line up more.

 

First up – Empire of Fools – a metal band really although they played a number of rock classics (Black Night, Wishing Well, which I sort of enjoyed. Their own songs were too metal for me, and as a starting band, they probably weren't the right choice – indeed, I'm, not convinced that they should have been playing a classic rock/ prog rock/ blues rock festival – there are plenty of metal festivals out there.


Final Conflict - The drummer is the incredibly talented Henry Rogers. I quite like Final Conflict even if they are on the loud side. They put on a good set.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6148/6022067204_db3a28a9f7.jpg

 

 

Jebo. I saw them a few years at the Peel (supporting Credo) and all I recall was that the vocalist thought he should be the centre of all attention. The music went in one ear and out the other without setting down in the middle. The years and the change of vocalist have helped and they put on a nice set. I bought the album.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6140/6022078204_f4b20e25e2.jpg 

 

Crimes of Passion. I was sitting outside through this metal band's set. They certainly had lots of energy. But I could not discern a tune.

 

Credo  put on a really good show (the crowd was definitely building by this time. They played, I think 5 songs (including Round and Round, Staring at the Sun, and finishing with From the Cradle to the Grave). I like Credo a lot – they have a really good balance between guitars and keyboards, each taking it's part in turn.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6123/6022086610_b4d2c763ea.jpg 

 

John Young Band. I listened to JYB from outside and found them enjoyable. I need to try to catch them again (it was a first for me). Again – I really should have taken more attention – my fault and not their's, but I particularly wanted to see...

 

Mr So and So. I saw them at Summer's End a few years ago and they put on a good set then, but this time was even better. If I was being really critical, I would have preferred to have more of the female vocalist and less of the bass player. He did have a really cool Rickenbacker (the only one of the weekend, I think). I look forward to their new album.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6129/6021544541_d5fcf8d707.jpg

 

Mostly Autumn. Strangely this was the first time that I'd managed to see Mostly Autumn. As a band, I'm still not sure what to make of them. Since I returned to music after a 30 year gap, each band has started with a clean slate for me. There are some bands that I don't like (IQ for example) and some that I really like (Pendragon). And up to now MA has been in the middle. So the set was not particularly long and was meandering through (someone needs to tell Bryan Josh not to sing) until the midpoint of the third song when Anne-Marie Helder drifted to the front (she was positioned at the back behind a set of keyboards) playing the most beautiful flute solo. Then the set picked up and reached a highpoint for me when they played Questioning Eyes which is a truly wonderful song. It was worth staying for that one song. It got a tremendous cheer (although sadly not as loud as that for Chantel McGregor or Larry Miller on Saturday). Then they played another song – I have no idea what, but, for me, it really spoilt the mood. I was thinking about getting the new live album – I probably will, but it seemed a little chaotic around the merchandise desk, and I wanted to get away.

 

And that was it – I was glad to have seen Mostly Autumn at least and I'll try to see them again. I have nothing but admiration for the band's charity work and I'm really pleased that they did so well at the CRS awards. I skipped Caravan and The Enid to get home at a reasonable time. I'll see Caravan at Summer's End. I don't like The Enid at all so putting them on last was great for me.

 

And highlights of Sunday – Mr So & So, Credo, AMH's flute solo and Questioning Eyes from Mostly Autumn.

 

All in all, I had a wonderful time, and I hope to be back next year (Tinyfish and Magenta on the bill would be great).

 

Here are my own personal awards for the weekend:

 

Best Band – tough one, but I'm going with Panic Room, with significant nods to Chantel McGregor and Larry Miller.

Best Guitar. It has to be Larry Miller but Chantel McGregor deserves a big mention.

Best Bass. Yatim Halimi. CRF marked a year since he played the first gig and he brings a lot to the band.

Best Keyboards.  Mike Varty – possibly one of the most under-appreciated musicians around.

Best Drummer.  Gavin Griffiths this time but another big nod to Henry Rogers.

Best New to Me Band.  Chantel McGregor. Easily. By a very long way.

Personality. Ciderman – you needed to have been there to understand this reference.

Biggest Disappointment. Chantel McGregor's lack of encore.

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post